Le Mars Public Library

Personal tools

You are here: Home / Do Research / Subject Guides / Sports

Sports

Links to useful sports information on the Internet.
CBS Sportsline
All sorts of current sports information, including news, standings, box scores, injury reports, statistics, and game recaps. Contains sections on Major League Baseball, NBA, NFL, NHL, College Football, College Basketball, and many more both in the United States and in Europe. Simple navigation and a search function is available
ExtremeSports.com
Online guide to extreme sports (aka the X-Games), including sport descriptions, photographs, schedules and results
The History of Traditional Games
This site is broken up into three main sections; Traditional Board Games from around the World, Traditional English Pub Games, and Traditional English Garden Games. Each section has separate, detailed pages on the history of such games as Billiards, Croquet, and Backgammon, as well as links to other historical type game sites. One added feature is a list of references used for finding the material for each profile.
Rulescentral.com
This site is a "comprehensive resource for Rules Enthusiasts, Sports Fans and Participants, and Games Players." It offers rules for a wide variety of activities: sports, cards, board games
Sport! Science@The Exploratorium
Learn about the science behind sports, including ice hockey, balls, and rock climbing. Also includes a sports science links and bibliography section, and the opportunity to ask a question about sports and science.
The Sporting News: The Vault
This archive includes histories of the Super Bowl, the Final Four, and the World Series. It also has scrapbooks of articles and photos about famous athletes.
Sports Almanac
Find facts and figures about different kinds of sports.
Sports Media
A gateway site with links to all sorts of physical education resources on the web. Includes links to lesson plans, coaching resources, organizations, and more.
The Sports Network
All sorts of current sports information, including scoreboards, standings, schedules, statistics, and news. Sections include MLB, NFL, NCAA Football, NHL, NBA, and PGA. Searchable.
Sports Reference Center
Sports fans rejoice! This valuable resource provides statistics for four major sports: baseball, football, basketball, and hockey, and each sport’s section is browsable and searchable in many ways. Baseball aficionados will find regular season box scores back to 1957 along with minor league stats back to 1992. Football lovers can look up draft picks and review single season and career leaders in passing, rushing, and kicking. Basketball devotees can find the top performers and award winners of the NBA and WNBA. Hockey enthusiasts will be able to find all players who wore the sweater number 25. With all of this and an additional section focused on Olympics history, Sports Reference hits the ball out of the park!
Women in Sports
Biographies of female athletes indexed by sport and by name; biographies of women in the sports business.
Yahoo! Sports
Scores, Recaps, News, Schedules, Statistics and Standings for a variety of sports.