Le Mars Public Library

Personal tools

You are here: Home / Do Research / Subject Guides / Consumer Information

Consumer Information

Links to useful information on the Internet.
Automobiles
Includes links to websites that provide information on topics related to any motorized vehicle
Business
Provides links to business sites
Energy
Includes links to sites regarding energy
Finance
Includes links pertaining to finance
Safety
Includes links to websites that pertain to safety whether in the home, at work or traveling
Technology
Includes links to today's technology
American Association of Retired Persons
AARP is a nonprofit membership organization of persons 50 and over dedicated to addressing their needs and interests. There is information on health and legal issues, travel, money and work, family and home, fun and games, learning and technology, and issues and elections.
Clothing care and stain removal guide
Iowa State University Extension Clothing care and stain removal site. There are stain removal tips and a quick and easy stain removal guide.
Consumer Information Center
This Consumer Information Center in Pueblo, Colorado contains free full text version of hundreds of the best federal consumer publications available on cars, children, employment, federal programs, food and nutrition, health, housing, money, small business, travel, hobbies and more. There is an A-Z Index of U.S. Government Departments and Agencies.
Consumer Reports
Available through the EbscoHost database. Presents articles on health, public safety, marketplace economics and the judicial & regulatory actions that affect consumers.
ConsumerSearch
This site pulls together all sources of reviews on products. You can choose a quick comparison or a detailed review. ConsumerSearch lets you look at what online and offline reviewers say about everything from bread makers and digital cameras to snow blowers and weight- loss programs
FirstGov for Consumers
A "one-stop" link to a broad range of federal information resources available online. It is designed so that you can locate information by category -- such as Food, Health, Product Safety, Your Money, and Transportation. Each category has subcategories to direct you to areas within individual federal web sites containing related information.
Homefair
Compares the cost of living in hundreds of U.S. cities.
Iowa Attorney General
This Iowa Attorney General site gives the conditions that must be met for your car to be considered a lemon and what you can do about it
Quotesmith
Quotesmith.com owns and operates Insure.com, a comprehensive online consumer insurance information service that caters to the needs of self-directed insurance shoppers. Insure.com provides a comprehensive array of comparative auto, life and health quotes, including a vast library of originally authored insurance articles and decision-making tools that are not available from any other single source. Visitors can now obtain instant quotes from more than 200 leading insurers, achieve maximum savings and have the freedom to buy from any company shown. The Company provides up-to-the-day accurate quotes for several lines of insurance including auto, motorcycle, life, individual & family medical, group medical, short term medical insurance, dental, Medicare supplement, homeowners, travel
Student gateway to the U.S. government
This is an official U.S. government web site designed for college students and their families. Our mission is to provide you with easy access to information and resources from the U.S. government – all the info you need, in one place, from all parts of the government
Social Security Online
The official site of the U.S. Social Security Administration. It has information on social security numbers, retirement benefits, disability, Medicare, and other issues related to social security.
Tom’s Hardware
For computer buffs and IT professionals looking for the latest hardware tips, gaming enthusiasts who want to meet other fans, businesspeople who need the best mobile devices, and electronics enthusiasts who are building a state-of-the-art home office. It is a comprehensive source of today’s news and analysis of current computer technology.